Private Horse Ownership

Anyone have any input on horse ownership on the island? We’d purchase there so no need to bring an animal into the island, hoping that takes some headache out of the equation. Wondering about boarding? Vets? Costs? Local laws? Can you have some on property and hire someone to care for them? Thank you all.

1 Like

I haven’t checked this out but I am also interested in horse ownership in Roatan.
Hopefully we get some answers.

2 Likes

I am not an expert on local laws or living, but I did bring my horses with me when I moved here 3 years ago, and I am happy to share my experience with you.
#1, to my knowledge, there are no boarding facilities here. There are a couple of businesses near West End who offer horseback rides to visitors, and who maintain sizable herds, but I don’t think they’d welcome privately owned horses into their herds. You would need to contact them directly to be sure though. One is Luna Beach, but I do not know the other name.
#2, the veterinarians here will treat horses, but they are NOT horse vets. I am a veterinarian but have never worked on horses. I want only a horse vet working on my animals. You might feel differently though! My experience here has been that if something drastic goes wrong with a horse (such as colic) you will probably lose said horse.