American crocodiles ..sightings and safety

Hello. I hear there is a healthy population of American crocodiles that live here. Locals say you see them mostly at night on the beach at camp bay but that they are shy during the day and they’ve never heard of anyone being attacked. I would love to know more about them since I have an active toddler and a small dog both of which fall prey to them in Florida. Anyone know more of have advice? Is it really safe to swim in the beach at Paya and Camp bay? Ok to walk along the paths thru the mangroves there?

2 Likes

No you should not go walking through the mangrove swamps…and as for crocs they do live here in a quite small number. Ive heard of no dangers swimming out by Camp Bay or the beach at Paya. as with anywhere in a tropical land, do not let your dog or child run free… there are many ways one can get hurt if not diligent…it’s not just crocs.

2 Likes

I’m not an expert, and this knowledge is 20 years old, but I heard they have caymans, which are small less aggressive crocodiles… I have never heard anything about alligators… for one thing… they don’t like salt water and the island is not exactly full of lakes, rivers and streams where an alligator would live

1 Like

No they are in fact 15 foot long American crocodiles which do go out and swim in the ocean at night as well as within the mangrove swamps. The locals call them Alligators and know it is not safe to swim in those areas nor do they let their kids near those beaches and canals. I was not comfortable with the notion that the people who do use the beaches there feel…that they only hunt at night. I stayed in the pool instead of swimming at the beach which was disappointing and I wish I had read the natural history of Roatan before booking our stay.

1 Like